IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Tomahawk Storm missing models making, Trying to make some missing models
SCUDStorm231
post 7 Aug 2019, 23:20
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6 August 2019
Member No.: 20358



Hi everyone!
This is my first post in this forum. I'm a zero hour not so professional modder, who's trying to make some missing models for tomahawk storm. I have never used Gmax and I'm still learning how to do so.
By "missing models", I mean models for conditions like: night, snow, night and snow; as EA didn't bother making them.
I made some textures and i'm now trying to skin them on the exsisting models that were left in game's files.

I'm tried to reskin one of the tomahawk storm models. I extracted all of the textures used to skin that model, but I'v had a hard time doing this.

The problems are:

1) When i'm applying the texture on the base of the building it's applying it to other things which I don't want to be skinned. Now how can I separate all the objects attached to this one damn thing(Cylinder01).
(see the picture!).

2) Also one of the textures used in this model is "atsdislab.tga" which is used for the object "ABSDLINK". However, when I apply the said texture on this object it doesn't look like it is made for it.

3) as for night condition models, I don't know how to add lights to them. Can someone PLEASE rolleyes.gif do it for me on the model that i have attached?

I have attached all the necessary files so you can try by yourself and see what I mean. I honestly don't what I'm doing wrong.

This stuff might be simple to some of you, but i'm struggling to do it. I wish someone who is experienced in this stuff to help me achieve my target or AT LEAST guides me.

Thanks,

PLESASE try to skin the model by yourself and let me know!Smile
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Tomhawk_Storm_Textures.rar ( 284.75K ) Number of downloads: 2
Attached File  My_created_Tomahawk_Storm_Textures.zip ( 229.08K ) Number of downloads: 2
Attached File  Cylinder01.png ( 120.65K ) Number of downloads: 4
Attached File  Texture_applying_result.png ( 209.29K ) Number of downloads: 8
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omeka88
post 22 Aug 2019, 17:27
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 July 2017
From: Roma
Member No.: 15601



the problem is the model iself , you need to separate the model in this case

1) for separate shape from a model (in this case [CYLINDER01]) select [CYLINDER01] then use the "Modify" option like that :



after select the shape to edit scroll down until you find this :



use Detach and name the new shape (name matter only if you use Housecolor as nametag , name must be 15 or less letter)

im using 3D max 7 , but im pretty sure is same way

that should fix problem 1 and 2

problem 3) the light are small shape (you probably guess that youself , but just tbs) apply the proper tga at a plane shape then set it like that in the W3D export tool :

you pick an hard biscuit x learn , just for say tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SCUDStorm231
post 23 Aug 2019, 20:18
Post #3



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6 August 2019
Member No.: 20358



Well first of all, thanks for your reply. I have been waiting for so long for somebody to help me out! smile.gif
In my RenX software, there isn't any detach option like you have. "Where can I get 3ds max from? I mean full version, not trial"

Secondly, I did what you said for adding lights. Unfortunately it did no good! sad.gif
I did exactly as you told and you can see the result in the picture I've attached.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TomahawkStorm_Night_Model.png ( 541.45K ) Number of downloads: 3
Attached File  No_detach_option.png ( 67.51K ) Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omeka88
post 28 Aug 2019, 19:03
Post #4



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 July 2017
From: Roma
Member No.: 15601



for the light use this texture : Light texture (or extrat <lightbeam.dds> from tga.big inside general foulder) you don't need to add this since is alredy ingame


allpy the w3d material and set like this



to run 3DMax 7\8 is a pain on win 10 , also idk if y can post link like that (il send you a private link)




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19 September 2019 - 18:38