IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Aleksandr Missions 1-4 updated, Introducing the Bombardier!
RedDeadSmeg
post 24 Mar 2018, 0:55
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



Well...I couldn't not update the Aleksandr campaign now that the Shock Trooper Bombardiers are here wink.gif

I've also streamlined the Aleksandr sub-faction even further and made changes to the UI.

Full changes are in the description of the download page.

Mission 5 will be updated soon.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/rise-of-the-reds...r-campaign-act1

As always,

Good luck General.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 24 Mar 2018, 15:27
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



Mission 5 has been updated.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/rise-of-the-reds...-act1-mission-5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mizo
post 24 Mar 2018, 19:44
Post #3


AI Coding Expert
Group Icon

Group: Dev. Team
Posts: 1798
Joined: 9 May 2014
From: Poland
Member No.: 10450



Thanks , will check it out when I get free time x.x

Having played all of your missions, I can definitely see how much Mental Omega's format of missions has rubbed on you, and I quiet like it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mizo: 24 Mar 2018, 19:46


--------------------


Not a Rusty Spoon........The_Hunter uses a goddamn wooden spoon on his AI Scripters....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gary1910
post 27 Apr 2018, 10:10
Post #4



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 27 November 2017
Member No.: 16391



I have d/l all 5 missions, and I could only load & play mission 2, the rest all immediately encounter "Technical Difficulty" when I clicked "Play Game" after selection.

BTW my ROTR version is 1.87, Win 10 OS , PC is bit old but so far I have not encountered many problem playing CCG, ZH, ROTR etc.

I believe it is probably my own system problem, but I have also d/l your GLA , ECA campaign, China Covert mission etc but I did not encounter such problem.

So maybe someone here could help me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gary1910
post 27 Apr 2018, 10:32
Post #5



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 27 November 2017
Member No.: 16391



I dunno how come I can't edit my previous post here, it was USASF mission which I have no problem playing it, rather it is the China Covert mission which I encountered the same problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 27 Apr 2018, 18:13
Post #6



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



QUOTE (gary1910 @ 27 Apr 2018, 10:10) *
I have d/l all 5 missions, and I could only load & play mission 2, the rest all immediately encounter "Technical Difficulty" when I clicked "Play Game" after selection.

BTW my ROTR version is 1.87, Win 10 OS , PC is bit old but so far I have not encountered many problem playing CCG, ZH, ROTR etc.

I believe it is probably my own system problem, but I have also d/l your GLA , ECA campaign, China Covert mission etc but I did not encounter such problem.

So maybe someone here could help me.



Have you downloaded the latest Version of 1.87? The one that included Bombardiers? I haven't updated the ECA campaign (or the GLA campaign I think), so I don't know which of those missions work on the latest build and which don't.

The only other thing I can think of is a corrupt map.ini file in each mission, I don't believe mission 2 had one in that file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gary1910
post 27 Apr 2018, 20:12
Post #7



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 27 November 2017
Member No.: 16391



QUOTE (RedDeadSmeg @ 28 Apr 2018, 1:13) *
Have you downloaded the latest Version of 1.87? The one that included Bombardiers? I haven't updated the ECA campaign (or the GLA campaign I think), so I don't know which of those missions work on the latest build and which don't.

The only other thing I can think of is a corrupt map.ini file in each mission, I don't believe mission 2 had one in that file.

I just updated to the latest 1.87 ver1.4 and tested mission 1 and it could be loaded w/o any problem. biggrin.gif

At first I thougth I have latest version of ROTR, I did not know within 1.87 itself, there were many other minor updates.

Tks, I will play your missions later, and thank you for all the joys you have given to me and the community. happy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 27 Apr 2018, 20:19
Post #8



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



QUOTE (gary1910 @ 27 Apr 2018, 20:12) *
I just updated to the latest 1.87 ver1.4 and tested mission 1 and it could be loaded w/o any problem. biggrin.gif

At first I thougth I have latest version of ROTR, I did not know within 1.87 itself, there were many other minor updates.

Tks, I will play your missions later, and thank you for all the joys you have given to me and the community. happy.gif



No problem, glad to help smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neutrino
post 28 Apr 2018, 11:25
Post #9



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 13 January 2013
From: Lebanon
Member No.: 9633



Some feedback about last mission:
1- Increase cooldown time for tremor or else mission is too easy.
2- Make the hacking center a bit harder to attack.
3- Make the nuke missile appear even before the internet center is destroyed. This would force the player to attack the internet center faster.
4- Make sure the first two tremor shots are for the nuke missile because i was able to fire atleast 2 times at the airports before destroying the nuke also with the tremor.
5- Add nighthawks for US.


--------------------
"How about we sing "Kyle's Mom is a Stupid Bitch" in D minor..."


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 28 Apr 2018, 12:47
Post #10



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



QUOTE (Neutrino @ 28 Apr 2018, 11:25) *
Some feedback about last mission:
1- Increase cooldown time for tremor or else mission is too easy.
2- Make the hacking center a bit harder to attack.
3- Make the nuke missile appear even before the internet center is destroyed. This would force the player to attack the internet center faster.
4- Make sure the first two tremor shots are for the nuke missile because i was able to fire atleast 2 times at the airports before destroying the nuke also with the tremor.
5- Add nighthawks for US.



1- It is set to one minute as a reward for holding off the Chinese and US for 10 minutes + however long it takes to to destroy the Internet Center.
2- How exactly? Some suggestions would be nice.
3- I understand that, but they way I see it, resorting to using Nukes makes it look like the Chinese are getting desperate, I'll think about changing it.
4- I don't understand this... do you mean that the airfield is blocking the Tremor shots? I don't believe I've have that problem, but I can look.
If you mean you can fire the Tremor twice before the Nuke is launched, it's the players choice to decide where to fire the Tremor, not mine.
5- I did overlook the Nighthawk to be fair.

Most of your suggestions revolve around difficulty, and trust me, you can't please everyone on that. some like a challenge, some like to relax and have fun, it's a taste matter. At some point I may look at releasing 2 or 3 difficulties for each mission, but for the time being I just don't have the time to do that.

Thanks for the suggestions though, and I'm glad you played the campaign. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neutrino
post 28 Apr 2018, 17:35
Post #11



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 13 January 2013
From: Lebanon
Member No.: 9633



QUOTE (RedDeadSmeg @ 28 Apr 2018, 14:47) *
2- How exactly? Some suggestions would be nice.

4- I don't understand this... do you mean that the airfield is blocking the Tremor shots? I don't believe I've have that problem, but I can look.
If you mean you can fire the Tremor twice before the Nuke is launched, it's the players choice to decide where to fire the Tremor, not mine.

Thanks for the suggestions though, and I'm glad you played the campaign. smile.gif


2- Add a small natural barrier (small oasis for example) that forces the player to attack from very heavily defended sides.

4-What I mean here is that make sure that the player has to fire the tremor the first two times at the nuke or else it would launch. This can be done by either having the nuke built before or increasing the cooldown of tremor.

Bonus suggestions
6- Make the US/Chinese base bigger and increase the size of the map.
7- Add the nile river for extra eye candy! (Near the sudanese egyptian border the nile looks more like a lake since egypt built a dam. The lake is called lake nasser).
8- When you free the village, add a small local GLA militia that helps you fight the US and china.

Thank you for your good work and keep it up. Hope to see some Russia vs ECA soon.


--------------------
"How about we sing "Kyle's Mom is a Stupid Bitch" in D minor..."


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 28 Apr 2018, 17:55
Post #12



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



QUOTE (Neutrino @ 28 Apr 2018, 17:35) *
2- Add a small natural barrier (small oasis for example) that forces the player to attack from very heavily defended sides.

4-What I mean here is that make sure that the player has to fire the tremor the first two times at the nuke or else it would launch. This can be done by either having the nuke built before or increasing the cooldown of tremor.

Bonus suggestions
6- Make the US/Chinese base bigger and increase the size of the map.
7- Add the nile river for extra eye candy! (Near the sudanese egyptian border the nile looks more like a lake since egypt built a dam. The lake is called lake nasser).
8- When you free the village, add a small local GLA militia that helps you fight the US and china.

Thank you for your good work and keep it up. Hope to see some Russia vs ECA soon.


2- Ah, nice idea, that would be a nice visual feature to the map as well!

4- Again, it's a players choice where to fire the Tremor, personally I would always target superweapons or power first, but everyone has a different strategy.

6&7- I would love to, problem is the mission is laggy as it is and making it bigger would make it worse, I'm still a novice when it come to optimising scripts and AI, once I improve I will try and make bigger and better maps.

8- I really like that, a great extra reward for completing a bonus objective, that one will go in for sure.

Thanks, I really appreciate it. As soon as the US and Chinese campaigns are completed I'll be focusing on the Euro-Russian War for definite.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mizo
post 29 Apr 2018, 1:35
Post #13


AI Coding Expert
Group Icon

Group: Dev. Team
Posts: 1798
Joined: 9 May 2014
From: Poland
Member No.: 10450



QUOTE
I would love to, problem is the mission is laggy as it is and making it bigger would make it worse, I'm still a novice when it come to optimising scripts and AI, once I improve I will try and make bigger and better maps


I did notice in several missions you have a nasty habit of ordering attack teams (non pre-existing) to simply hunt. That's rather taxing. It'd be better if you create specific attack paths via waypoints and assigning teams to follow these paths > then hunt as less calculations are needed.

In addition to that, if you want to go bigger, it's better to segregate the AI into multiple smaller ones with the same team color.

For example in Vanilla Generals, the final mission in the china campaign had 3 Green GLA AIs , each with their own scripts. ( the outpost, the city and the mountains).

It will create the illusion that the AI forces are vast, while in reality it's really more than just 1. It's alot less taxing that having 1 LARGE AI doing the bulk of the work biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mizo: 29 Apr 2018, 1:40


--------------------


Not a Rusty Spoon........The_Hunter uses a goddamn wooden spoon on his AI Scripters....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skitt
post 29 Apr 2018, 5:42
Post #14



Group Icon

Group: Moderator
Posts: 1579
Joined: 8 January 2015
From: Newcastle, England
Member No.: 10811
Aut vincere aut mori, Cave quid dicis, quando, et cui, De duobus malis, minus est semper eligendum.



nice missions red, however can you start putting them in the maps section of the forum please, ill be moveing this lot across there now.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedDeadSmeg
post 29 Apr 2018, 16:41
Post #15



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 26 September 2016
From: England
Member No.: 13220



QUOTE (Mizo @ 29 Apr 2018, 1:35) *
I did notice in several missions you have a nasty habit of ordering attack teams (non pre-existing) to simply hunt. That's rather taxing. It'd be better if you create specific attack paths via waypoints and assigning teams to follow these paths > then hunt as less calculations are needed.

In addition to that, if you want to go bigger, it's better to segregate the AI into multiple smaller ones with the same team color.

For example in Vanilla Generals, the final mission in the china campaign had 3 Green GLA AIs , each with their own scripts. ( the outpost, the city and the mountains).

It will create the illusion that the AI forces are vast, while in reality it's really more than just 1. It's alot less taxing that having 1 LARGE AI doing the bulk of the work biggrin.gif



The A.I is certainly my biggest weakness when it comes to mission making. Thanks the advice.


QUOTE (Skitt @ 29 Apr 2018, 5:42) *
nice missions red, however can you start putting them in the maps section of the forum please, ill be moveing this lot across there now.


Sorry.

This post has been edited by RedDeadSmeg: 29 Apr 2018, 16:41
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24 May 2018 - 5:28