IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Closed TopicStart new topic
Rise of the Reds Blog Update 18
DELETED MEMBER
post 24 Sep 2014, 19:53
Post #51


BANNED
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 728
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Spain
Member No.: 48



QUOTE (teslashark @ 24 Sep 2014, 6:37) *
just like the Field Command taking over the production of some defense/repair-capable units.


the field command doesnt have a build limit of one
by having they production in the research facility all you do is making them unable to be produced in more than one


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 25 Sep 2014, 2:16
Post #52


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2152
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



Plus as cool as it is to have the mass produced protocol units use the elevator as well, it's not codeable.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Banisher of Hope
post 25 Sep 2014, 2:25
Post #53



Group Icon

Group: Donator
Posts: 130
Joined: 7 February 2014
From: Canada
Member No.: 10286



QUOTE (Zeke @ 24 Sep 2014, 21:16) *
Plus as cool as it is to have the mass produced protocol units use the elevator as well, it's not codeable.


Oh, that is sad. Out of curiosity, what is the issue?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 25 Sep 2014, 2:48
Post #54


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2152
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



QUOTE (Banisher of Hope @ 25 Sep 2014, 9:25) *
Oh, that is sad. Out of curiosity, what is the issue?


The unit you see emerging from the elevator is fake, it's actually part of the door model of the research facility. The issue is that you can't set which door model to use for a specific unit being built, meaning if for example you build a Fenris in the research center, it will show the Pandora rising from the elevator then sudenly change into the Fenris.

Of course you can fix this by just adding walls and a roof to the elevator, effectively creating a generic door animation, but that would defeat the whole purpose of using this effect in the first place.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
teslashark
post 25 Sep 2014, 4:10
Post #55



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 650
Joined: 1 March 2014
Member No.: 10319



QUOTE (Zeke @ 24 Sep 2014, 18:48) *
The unit you see emerging from the elevator is fake, it's actually part of the door model of the research facility. The issue is that you can't set which door model to use for a specific unit being built, meaning if for example you build a Fenris in the research center, it will show the Pandora rising from the elevator then sudenly change into the Fenris.

Of course you can fix this by just adding walls and a roof to the elevator, effectively creating a generic door animation, but that would defeat the whole purpose of using this effect in the first place.

Is there a limit on door animation numbers? There are one animations for each Prototype already, and judging from warfactories and airports, the limit is two?
Otherwise, maybe a "spawn-in" a la Deployment Zone style but with a Pegasus heli outside the structure will do...


--------------------
And then...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 25 Sep 2014, 4:36
Post #56


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2152
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



QUOTE (teslashark @ 25 Sep 2014, 11:10) *
Is there a limit on door animation numbers? There are one animations for each Prototype already, and judging from warfactories and airports, the limit is two?
Otherwise, maybe a "spawn-in" a la Deployment Zone style but with a Pegasus heli outside the structure will do...


Each factory can only have 1 door, unless it's an airfield which can have as many doors as the number of runways you specify. However, the door limit is not the issue, the issue is you can't tell the game to use a specific door for a specific unit. The reason why it works for the protocols units is because each protocol upgrade is coded to also change the facility's door model.

A spawn in ability a la deployment zone might work, but it would: 1. Look stupid (why do we even have a deployment zone if the pegasus can land anywhere anyway?) 2. Be too much work 3. Would accomplish nothing except create a production bottleneck for the protocol's supposed "mass produced" units.

Support units were moved to the Field Command essentially to make it a lot more useful and appealing to the player, before that all it could do was make and repair dozers, which personally I felt was a waste due to it's awesome model and fairly large footprint. The Research Center on the other hand holds your Tier 2 upgrades as well as the Protocol Units, even if you don't get the Protocols you'd still need it as a tier 2 prerequisite as well as the upgrades. That said, it's obvious when comparing the two, which one needed more uses. The Research Center is already plenty useful and doesn't need any more uses.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
teslashark
post 25 Sep 2014, 7:26
Post #57



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 650
Joined: 1 March 2014
Member No.: 10319



QUOTE (Zeke @ 24 Sep 2014, 20:36) *
Each factory can only have 1 door, unless it's an airfield which can have as many doors as the number of runways you specify. However, the door limit is not the issue, the issue is you can't tell the game to use a specific door for a specific unit. The reason why it works for the protocols units is because each protocol upgrade is coded to also change the facility's door model.

A spawn in ability a la deployment zone might work, but it would: 1. Look stupid (why do we even have a deployment zone if the pegasus can land anywhere anyway?) 2. Be too much work 3. Would accomplish nothing except create a production bottleneck for the protocol's supposed "mass produced" units.


That's sensible, though as long as you can fill a build queue with them, it's still mass production right? What I want to say is to let the Pegasus spawn the MP unit in on a side of the Research Facility or use the hatch as a drop-off pad.
By the way, do you remember in Xenoforce the way Musai and Argama produces units by dislodging generic boxes that open automatically? Just saying, if anyone want to pick it up...


--------------------
And then...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Planardweller
post 25 Sep 2014, 10:15
Post #58



Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 431
Joined: 5 November 2012
From: Ukraine, Kyiv
Member No.: 9425



QUOTE (teslashark @ 25 Sep 2014, 9:26) *
That's sensible, though as long as you can fill a build queue with them, it's still mass production right? What I want to say is to let the Pegasus spawn the MP unit in on a side of the Research Facility or use the hatch as a drop-off pad.
By the way, do you remember in Xenoforce the way Musai and Argama produces units by dislodging generic boxes that open automatically? Just saying, if anyone want to pick it up...


Mass producible means no build limit, but it doesn't imply how many production buildings can the player have. In terms of ECA, Tiger and Harrier are mass producible, but bottle-necked - their availability is linear, because there is only one Deployment Zone to build them. At any given time (if you always order your DZ to build said units) you will have "time of game" divided by "Unit build time" (equals 15 seconds for both units AFAIK). If you can build more than one production facility, number of units you can have in short order increases very quickly.

As i understand Dev team wanted their MP protocol units not bottle-necked.

This post has been edited by Planardweller: 25 Sep 2014, 10:17
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
{Lads}RikerZZZ
post 28 Sep 2014, 1:00
Post #59


Certified Shitposter
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 2409
Joined: 30 December 2013
From: Straya'
Member No.: 10248
pls join my games im lonely =c



I've noticed that the vehicle digout is different in each picture.
Is the one on the left the model when garrisoned, and the one on the right un-garrisoned,
or are there multiple models like with the hopper and all the gla stuff?


--------------------

Many thanks to IvanMRM for my avatar and Star for drawing my epic signature. You guys rock!
Join our Discord Server for a great community and plenty of games and memes!
Also, check out our ROTR - Fan group on Facebook.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
__CrUsHeR
post 28 Sep 2014, 1:25
Post #60



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2642
Joined: 18 April 2012
From: Southern Brazil.
Member No.: 9084
"No. Not even in the face of Armageddon. Never compromise."



^surely one is garrisoned and the other is not, just check the concrete blocks and chains.


--------------------

You already imagined how would be SAP in the ROTR's universe? Check out this fan-fiction: South American Pact Introduction
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kwendy
post 28 Sep 2014, 22:26
Post #61



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 14 March 2013
Member No.: 9854



Is it only me or russian aircraft underpowered? Requires general promotion, expencive as hell, dying easy, not effective as chinese in their purpose nor self-sufficient like USA... Can somebody point some good traits?
Also nobody loves the GLA helicopters sprinklers. Even so with several of them you can create a contamination as dence as antrax bomb smile.gif In exchange for some weak rockets.

This post has been edited by kwendy: 28 Sep 2014, 22:28
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Serialkillerwhal...
post 29 Sep 2014, 2:50
Post #62


Orcinius Genocidalus
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2428
Joined: 11 July 2012
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 9223
No, you move.



Russian air power is meant to be a weakness, as opposed to China, who have everything OP, and the US, whose air power is one of their advantages.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omnius64
post 29 Sep 2014, 11:26
Post #63



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 24 May 2014
Member No.: 10479



QUOTE (kwendy @ 28 Sep 2014, 23:26) *
Is it only me or russian aircraft underpowered? Requires general promotion, expencive as hell, dying easy, not effective as chinese in their purpose nor self-sufficient like USA... Can somebody point some good traits?
Also nobody loves the GLA helicopters sprinklers. Even so with several of them you can create a contamination as dence as antrax bomb smile.gif In exchange for some weak rockets.

Russia have a limited airforce. It powerfull, but its expensive, requires general promotion, and its only two units.
But its because its a gameplay & lore thing. Russia its a direct assault faction, based more in quality than quantity. So its units are powerfull but expensive. And because Russia have really powerfull Hellicopters, its fixed wing craft mut be limited.

And lorewise, when Russia started the war, they used their airforce to destroy the majority ECA continental airports, except Spain & Portugal. Althougt the mission was a succes (leaving the ECA with a limited airforce lore & gameplay wise), the Russian airforce suffered high looses due to ECA anti-air. (At least, is what I believe)

This post has been edited by Omnius64: 29 Sep 2014, 13:07
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr.Kim
post 29 Sep 2014, 16:52
Post #64


Losing Karma to Vault Boy
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 1302
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Canada/S.Korea
Member No.: 34
Some future plan mod for AoE3:Asian Dynasty or FO4



QUOTE (Omnius64 @ 29 Sep 2014, 6:26) *
Russia have a limited airforce. It powerfull, but its expensive, requires general promotion, and its only two units.


FYI, they don't have a limited.


--------------------

Let's kick this Russian Tank's ass back to the Bronze Age!

Twitch Chart ID: Mr_kim82

Moddb ID: Mr_Kim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kwendy
post 29 Sep 2014, 19:59
Post #65



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 14 March 2013
Member No.: 9854



So... You use one general promotion and amount of cash enough to build a Tremor Agas to... I don't know, harass enemy supply line once or destroy GLA air? Seems legit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MARS
post 29 Sep 2014, 20:08
Post #66



Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 5870
Joined: 2 June 2009
Member No.: 10



In terms of functions, the Russian air force isn't limited. You've got a versatile general purpose fighter that can also engage ground targets and a very useful stealth ground attack jet that rips through all kinds of tanks. A wing of Sokols can stop a Manticore, Overlords, Sentinels, heavy anti-air and other vehicular hazards cold.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kwendy
post 29 Sep 2014, 20:18
Post #67



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 14 March 2013
Member No.: 9854



And how many times they actually did it? As far as I've seen on stream it takes small group of gattlings to take on wing of VERY expensive ground attack jets with minimum casualties and fighters can't really intercept enemy aircraft on their own.
In SHW USA armour general gets expencive but better-then-nothing jets that actually can be helpful in ground forces support. In RoTR we have beautiful and not so bad on its own fixed winged air but it's totally useless for real puposes (except boasting) and can be replaced by cheaper means easily.

This post has been edited by kwendy: 29 Sep 2014, 20:26
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BLGMGL
post 5 Oct 2014, 16:15
Post #68



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 21 October 2009
From: Between Europe and Asia.
Member No.: 500



Ah, ECA's Vehicle Digout reminds me of RA2 Yuri's Tank Bunkers.
Very useful!! smile.gif
I hope it can fit tanks and vehicles from other factions too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BLGMGL
post 5 Oct 2014, 16:17
Post #69



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 21 October 2009
From: Between Europe and Asia.
Member No.: 500



Speaking of Russian Airforce...

I'll be missing my frogfoots... :'(

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Graion Dilach
post 5 Oct 2014, 21:52
Post #70


Supérior Caliburwielder
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 632
Joined: 23 August 2013
From: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary
Member No.: 10093
Just a random modder trying to give a helping hand.



QUOTE (kwendy @ 29 Sep 2014, 21:18) *
And how many times they actually did it? As far as I've seen on stream it takes small group of gattlings to take on wing of VERY expensive ground attack jets with minimum casualties and fighters can't really intercept enemy aircraft on their own.
In SHW USA armour general gets expencive but better-then-nothing jets that actually can be helpful in ground forces support. In RoTR we have beautiful and not so bad on its own fixed winged air but it's totally useless for real puposes (except boasting) and can be replaced by cheaper means easily.


If these are the streams where I piloted the Sokols, then it's partially me being the issue. My micro sucks and when I'm under pressure I just put everything I can into guard mode and pray that I'll see a light of hope in the chaos forecoming.

IOW, my Sokol tactics aren't even close to the micro Bruce pulls out with his Raptors. Ofcourse, without that, they'll feel underpowered. mindfuck.gif

This post has been edited by Graion Dilach: 5 Oct 2014, 21:58


--------------------


AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2 | SWR Community Discord https://discord.gg/REcbv37
QUOTE
ComradeCrimson: AS is the product of Hungarian acid
ComradeCrimson: And magical hussars
Dutchygamer: and Weird Al.

QUOTE (Hanfield @ 17 Dec 2016, 20:47)
we have players who don't play, testers who don't test, devs who don't dev and members who don't remember
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
re_simeone
post 6 Oct 2014, 0:02
Post #71



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1852
Joined: 17 April 2012
Member No.: 9081



Why Bruce don't play Russia in some of streams ?
Pretty much whole Russian air force was revamped,even Berkut,so why he don't show us good use of it ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
z741
post 6 Oct 2014, 1:03
Post #72


Stealth Master
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 298
Joined: 10 February 2012
From: USA
Member No.: 8990



good question why not ask bruce yourself?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Svea Rike
post 6 Oct 2014, 7:45
Post #73



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2491
Joined: 20 December 2012
From: My mother's womb
Member No.: 9540



You'll find that answer in his name: (USA)Bruce.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BLGMGL
post 7 Oct 2014, 3:12
Post #74



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 21 October 2009
From: Between Europe and Asia.
Member No.: 500



QUOTE (kwendy @ 30 Sep 2014, 3:18) *
And how many times they actually did it? As far as I've seen on stream it takes small group of gattlings to take on wing of VERY expensive ground attack jets with minimum casualties and fighters can't really intercept enemy aircraft on their own.
In SHW USA armour general gets expencive but better-then-nothing jets that actually can be helpful in ground forces support. In RoTR we have beautiful and not so bad on its own fixed winged air but it's totally useless for real puposes (except boasting) and can be replaced by cheaper means easily.


You're totally right.
Su-25/39 Frogfoot was like a balanced countermeasure against ground forces. But not anymore... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MARS
post 7 Oct 2014, 6:25
Post #75



Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 5870
Joined: 2 June 2009
Member No.: 10



The Frogfoot wasn't balanced. It was a flying bomb carrier that was so powerful that it turned what was always meant to be an optional unlock into a no-brainer necessity for Russia to achieve anything. The Sokol still gives you a noticeable edge against ground units, but in a much more nuanced way which, along with the changes we've applied to Russian helicopters, finally makes their air force the optional, situational support tool that it was always meant to be, similar to the GLA's.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21 November 2019 - 15:12