Reply to this topicStart new topic
Some Stars and A Sun, Introducing the Federal Republic of the Philippines
BlackPowder123
post 5 May 2015, 14:43
Post #1

Group Icon

Group: Members
Member No.: 10740

This is my first time to create a fanfic, and after how many months since I joined this forum, I finally had the chance to make this. I hope you'll enjoy. smile.gif)

Also, there are already existing references to the Philippines here. Nevertheless, here's mine.

Federal Republic of the Philippines
Leader: Lester Acosta
Capital: Manila
Population: 155,143,000
Active Troops: 620,000

The Philippines has experienced its own series of unfortunate events, in particular with its geopolitical vulnerability in the growing Asia-Pacific region. Once regarded as one of Asia's largest economies and strongest militaries during the Cold War, it downgraded to become one of the weakest armed forces in Asia. Moreover, the stigma of martial law during the Marcos dictatorship, threats of coups and the culture of corruption within the Filipino society itself have plagued any attempt to seriously modernize the dilapidated Philippine military. Compounding the military's problems are the two largest and longest insurgencies in the country: the Communists, who have called for a Maoist state in the archipelago, and the Moros, who have long called for a separate state in the southern islands.