IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Artillery Guard Mode, Is it technically possible?
Jakato
post 18 Jan 2018, 11:32
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 13 December 2017
Member No.: 16473



One thing that has always frustrated me in PvE is artillery. I'm not very good at micromanagement (I am super-duper forgetful) so I usually have two to four aircraft guarding critical areas. The idea is to be able to destroy AI attack forces so fast the artillery never gets a chance to wipe me out when my back is turned. Obviously this is more for when the AI is trying to take a supply dock from me than protecting my main base.

I wondered if it's possible for me to add a "Artillery" guard mode sort of like the "Aircraft" guard mode. I get there would need to be extra command buttons defined etc but I'm wondering if the AI can even filter out artillery units. I'm guessing the guard mode can filter units by their defined attributes (e.g. only attacking aircraft). However do all artillery units have a "artillery" attribute?

In a ideal world I could have lots if guard modes (infantry, AA etc) but that would not just be difficult in terms of scripting. Design issues would emerge too. You'd need a whole tab just for the guard modes, and SAGE seems to like having arbitrary limits so I bet I wouldn't be able to have enough guard buttons.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hanfield
post 18 Jan 2018, 12:00
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 545
Joined: 24 February 2015
From: Latvia
Member No.: 10884



Guard functions are hardcoded to either simply guard, guard with no pursuit, or guard against air only, so no


--------------------
"don't live, hanfield"
"i swear to god, if this was a room full of you people i'd be taking off my gloves and slapping hanfield every 5 minutes"

- bruce 2016
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jakato
post 18 Jan 2018, 16:07
Post #3



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 13 December 2017
Member No.: 16473



Oh well. Another dream dead.

Is guard vs guard with no pursuit based on whether retaliation mode is on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XoGamer
post 18 Jan 2018, 18:41
Post #4


Tactically Toxic
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 29 February 2016
Member No.: 12634



no it is to do with Guard & Guard Close

speaking of Guard Close can you make the hotkey for it also G cos I am used to pressing G for guard (and no unit uses both)


--------------------
"It'll be a nuclear winter, this year General."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jakato
post 19 Jan 2018, 15:09
Post #5



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 13 December 2017
Member No.: 16473



QUOTE (XoGamer @ 18 Jan 2018, 19:41) *
no it is to do with Guard & Guard Close

speaking of Guard Close can you make the hotkey for it also G cos I am used to pressing G for guard (and no unit uses both)


So Guard is the default mode of a unit that has reached its destination?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XoGamer
post 19 Jan 2018, 17:03
Post #6


Tactically Toxic
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 29 February 2016
Member No.: 12634



QUOTE (Jakato @ 19 Jan 2018, 14:09) *
that has reached its destination?


what do you mean? no


--------------------
"It'll be a nuclear winter, this year General."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jakato
post 20 Jan 2018, 12:30
Post #7



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 13 December 2017
Member No.: 16473



How do you put units in "Guard Close" mode?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25 February 2018 - 4:47