IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
My "Porting Russia into ZH" Thread
Kang Rusa
post 13 Jul 2019, 4:33
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 July 2019
From: Changchun, China
Member No.: 20240



Hi guys! biggrin.gif

So, I've been thinking about combining the best mods into one, and right now I'm adding Russia's Rapid Deployment General. I renamed the faction into Russia Airborne General (might change into Russia Special Forces General) and replaced Orlov with Zhana Agonskaya. I've done the INI coding for the Playertemplate.ini and the dozer, The problem is, it won't mean anything unless I add images (medallions, general's powers windows, portrait, scorescreen, etc.) My first question is how do I add new medallions, portraits, etc into the existing ini? Where do I even find the images used in the ini? Also, how do I edit the words that show on the skirmish loading screen?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omeka88
post 17 Jul 2019, 17:46
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 14 July 2017
From: Roma
Member No.: 15601



first ting first.
if you plan to use other mod (unless made by you) model \ texture ask the maker fist , if you plan to public the mod

ok now for the question:

medallions are : [SCGenChallengeSelect512.ini] , but you can make a custom one , make you own for work easier

for the image must dig inside [TexturesZH.big] vanilla icon sheet are like SAControlBar512_001.tga [MUST be TGA , DDS don't work]

for custom text (i suppose the general arsenal info) you must edit [PlayerTemplate.ini] for add custom text open [EnglishZH.big] and export [Generals.str]
you can edit it with Notepad++
once you done place [General.str] inside Command & Conquer™ Generals Zero Hour\Data foulder


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kang Rusa
post 25 Jul 2019, 16:43
Post #3



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 July 2019
From: Changchun, China
Member No.: 20240



QUOTE (Omeka88 @ 18 Jul 2019, 0:46) *
first ting first.
if you plan to use other mod (unless made by you) model \ texture ask the maker fist , if you plan to public the mod

ok now for the question:

medallions are : [SCGenChallengeSelect512.ini] , but you can make a custom one , make you own for work easier

for the image must dig inside [TexturesZH.big] vanilla icon sheet are like SAControlBar512_001.tga [MUST be TGA , DDS don't work]

for custom text (i suppose the general arsenal info) you must edit [PlayerTemplate.ini] for add custom text open [EnglishZH.big] and export [Generals.str]
you can edit it with Notepad++
once you done place [General.str] inside Command & Conquer™ Generals Zero Hour\Data foulder


I did my homework to find out who did what so I can credit them properly, and thanks! smile.gif

I do have a new problem though.

I opened up Russia's Crane model on RenX and started putting up skins. The skin for the wheels are on a separate file than the skin for the rest of the unit and so are the lights coming out from..well, the headlights. Now, I have 2 issues:

1. When I tried applying the wheel skin, all I get is a black cylinder. Is this normal? The files are literally the same files from the original ROTR.

2. I need to know where the light skins should be.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 26 Jul 2019, 2:46
Post #4


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2149
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



Use the w3d viewer that comes with RenX to check which textures are used. Some of the textures will be found in the original ZH/Vgen big files not just the ROTR mod ones.

Make sure the "Display" button is pressed so that you can see the texture in the viewport.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kang Rusa
post 29 Jul 2019, 6:45
Post #5



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 July 2019
From: Changchun, China
Member No.: 20240



QUOTE (Zeke @ 26 Jul 2019, 9:46) *
Use the w3d viewer that comes with RenX to check which textures are used. Some of the textures will be found in the original ZH/Vgen big files not just the ROTR mod ones.

Make sure the "Display" button is pressed so that you can see the texture in the viewport.


Awesome, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kang Rusa
post 2 Aug 2019, 4:52
Post #6



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 July 2019
From: Changchun, China
Member No.: 20240



Okay, I applied the correct skin for the Russian crane and saved it where I should, but when I opened the same model on RenX, it got blank again. Is this normal?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 5 Aug 2019, 6:50
Post #7


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2149
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



QUOTE (Zeke @ 26 Jul 2019, 9:46) *
Make sure the "Display" button is pressed so that you can see the texture in the viewport.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kang Rusa
post 6 Aug 2019, 6:18
Post #8



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 July 2019
From: Changchun, China
Member No.: 20240



Already did. Now I have some weird colours instead of the texture.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omeka88
post 10 Aug 2019, 14:59
Post #9



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 14 July 2017
From: Roma
Member No.: 15601



QUOTE (Kang Rusa @ 6 Aug 2019, 7:18) *
Already did. Now I have some weird colours instead of the texture.


can screenshot of both Renx and W3dView of the model [or the render preview from final big] , just for see how look like


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24 August 2019 - 17:45