IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Are you gonna finish this mod?, It seems dead
Stinger
post 18 Oct 2009, 2:00
Post #26


Kitteh
Group Icon

Group: Legend
Posts: 590
Joined: 31 May 2009
From: Northern Ireland
Member No.: 6
Projects: SWR Productions



He's kinda got a point there. Everything in WGZH is so large. I can't help but think it would look and play better if the tanks were scaled down.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rade
post 18 Oct 2009, 16:57
Post #27



Group Icon

Group: Leader
Posts: 272
Joined: 3 June 2009
From: Loznica, Serbia
Member No.: 13
Projects: SWR Productions



Regarding the unit size the camera in WG is not set so high as it is in ShockWave or ROTR so the units do look slightly larger, and some units like the Slayer tank are considerably bigger that other tanks simply because we wanted them to be the same as in the original game.
Also I remember I had a talk about this with the Hunter about the time when the beta was about to be released and one thing that I suggested was to scale down all units and buildings by 30-50%, to reduce the weapon and sight range for the units and to reduce the height and the angle of the camera, and doing this would make the whole map to look allot bigger for the player and also it would help to make the graphics look better simply because the camera would be closer to the objects and the mipmaping which uses the lower resolution textures for that are far away from the camera wouldn't happen and everything would look allot sharper.
Only thing is that at the time I suggested this the beta was ready to be released and changing all this would require allot of time because we would have to edit models and ini files for every unit and doing that would postpone the beta release, so we decided not to do it, but we will consider doing something like this for the next release.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eddnamed
post 18 Oct 2009, 20:14
Post #28


Yeah, I'm not nicknamed. I'm Eddnamed
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 14 July 2009
Member No.: 264



That´s very good. cool_worm.gif


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frostyarmy
post 3 Nov 2009, 18:07
Post #29


League is Life
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: America
Member No.: 153



Be nice for the mod to have one more release , me and edd played this mod a few times its so simple its fun smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pickysaurus
post 3 Nov 2009, 18:47
Post #30


Officer of the European Continental Army
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: England, Great Britain
Member No.: 71
Community Manager at Nexus Mods



Personally i got bored because it was too unfinished


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frostyarmy
post 7 Nov 2009, 13:40
Post #31


League is Life
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: America
Member No.: 153



we figured its more of a Aircraft / infantry game , also after you lose your main cloning center i rebuilt it and i couldn't make a command center still , why is that

Me and edd performed a base trade
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eddnamed
post 7 Nov 2009, 17:07
Post #32


Yeah, I'm not nicknamed. I'm Eddnamed
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 14 July 2009
Member No.: 264



heh, yeah.

Only useful tanks are the Gladiator in large numbers, mobile SAMs and the stealth laser
This game is simply really fun.


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frostyarmy
post 7 Nov 2009, 22:25
Post #33


League is Life
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: America
Member No.: 153



i must agree
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneralCamo
post 8 Nov 2009, 2:13
Post #34


That person
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 1424
Joined: 20 September 2009
From: Cyberspace
Member No.: 417
C&C ShockWave Co-Leader



The reason you can't build a command center is that you need the helipad to build it. And for infantry rush, you might want the ADV. helipad as that can build the M*A*S*H unit, that can heal infantry.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneralCamo
post 8 Nov 2009, 22:57
Post #35


That person
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 1424
Joined: 20 September 2009
From: Cyberspace
Member No.: 417
C&C ShockWave Co-Leader



Hey everyone. Anyway, I hope that the navy is finished soon. I will love the navy. I also can't wait for W.O.P.R. Hope it works out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pickysaurus
post 9 Nov 2009, 0:46
Post #36


Officer of the European Continental Army
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: England, Great Britain
Member No.: 71
Community Manager at Nexus Mods



ohmy.gif Double post

And I didn't know there was a navy planned for this mod ohmy.gif


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IonCharge
post 9 Nov 2009, 1:06
Post #37



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 199
Joined: 9 August 2009
From: Outer Space
Member No.: 340
Once you see the blue light you are already dead



QUOTE (Pickysaurus @ 8 Nov 2009, 20:46) *
ohmy.gif Double post

And I didn't know there was a navy planned for this mod ohmy.gif

neither did i...


--------------------

QUOTE (Shock @ 20 Jun 2009 @ 3:40)
You make it sound like SWR's hidden some nude patch in it..

QUOTE (huhnu @ 16 May 2010, 5:06) *
I've reported it.
And have tried 5 more times anyways.
I'm pro-trolling that mod.

Your base has been targeted for demolition
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneralCamo
post 9 Nov 2009, 5:44
Post #38


That person
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 1424
Joined: 20 September 2009
From: Cyberspace
Member No.: 417
C&C ShockWave Co-Leader



QUOTE (Pickysaurus @ 8 Nov 2009, 15:46) *
ohmy.gif Double post

And I didn't know there was a navy planned for this mod ohmy.gif

Well, in the original game, yes, there was. This mod is all about making zh the ORIGANAL game. Hope that it is there
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pickysaurus
post 10 Nov 2009, 0:03
Post #39


Officer of the European Continental Army
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: England, Great Britain
Member No.: 71
Community Manager at Nexus Mods



I've never played the original WarGames - but the SAGE engine doesn't like naval units...


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
R3ven
post 11 Nov 2009, 2:09
Post #40



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 211
Joined: 16 August 2009
Member No.: 356
l33t



Project Evans begs to differ wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frostyarmy
post 13 Nov 2009, 18:28
Post #41


League is Life
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: America
Member No.: 153



Sage still hardly supports it , Evens is Probably having to hard code that stuff in and even so it will still be buggy as holy shit
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Raven
post 13 Nov 2009, 21:54
Post #42



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 565
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: Sri Lanka
Member No.: 155



I kinda agree with Zhao. Somtime back there was a mod called navy giants. It was buggy as hell. The ships were damn big to begin with and sometimes they used to travel on land :S.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneralCamo
post 14 Nov 2009, 3:06
Post #43


That person
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 1424
Joined: 20 September 2009
From: Cyberspace
Member No.: 417
C&C ShockWave Co-Leader



Well, at least the shipyard does not deploy on land....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pickysaurus
post 14 Nov 2009, 3:12
Post #44


Officer of the European Continental Army
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: England, Great Britain
Member No.: 71
Community Manager at Nexus Mods



Well it'd be easier just to make it a capturable tech building


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JJ
post 14 Nov 2009, 20:17
Post #45



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 7 June 2009
Member No.: 65
Projects: SWR Productions



The problem with that technique is that I see no measures to prevent the player from deploying at supposedly impassible terrain, like a really, really small pool of water. Really, a navy can only be counted bugless if the shipyards could be properly placed. Since dozer logic won't work, the other option is, as said, tech buildings.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
R3ven
post 14 Nov 2009, 21:20
Post #46



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 211
Joined: 16 August 2009
Member No.: 356
l33t



well that simple to fix, since that hack van/egg or w/e they are calling it, uses one locomotor for both ground and water, make the terrain in worldbuilder impassible for small pools of water, then anything that can cross water should have a separate locomotor that uses:

CODE
Appearance = HOVER


to cross that, while the egg thing that deploys cannot since it has FOUR_WHEELS probably
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JJ
post 15 Nov 2009, 19:36
Post #47



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 7 June 2009
Member No.: 65
Projects: SWR Productions



The main thing I wanted to bring up there is that you can go next to some impassible place, then deploy it. Since the structure almost certainly has a much bigger buildup than the vehicle, it will turn out odd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
n5p29
post 16 Nov 2009, 8:22
Post #48


Enlima Studios
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 757
Joined: 11 October 2009
From: Jakarta, Indonesia
Member No.: 482



how if make the vehicle/core geometry same as (or bigger than) the building's geometry? so it can't be deployed on narrow passable terrain.

fun fact about evans shipyard method:
if you deploy the core on unflat terrain (like in small ponds or near the shore cliffs), it will flatten the surrounding terrain no matter what.
it's funny to see the cliffs flattened.

if ZH have DEEP_WATER option for locomotor (like in CNC3) this can be prevented.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frostyarmy
post 19 Nov 2009, 18:41
Post #49


League is Life
Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 June 2009
From: America
Member No.: 153



well when EA releases the ablity to code the ZH engine things will be alot better D:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
R3ven
post 19 Nov 2009, 22:07
Post #50



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 211
Joined: 16 August 2009
Member No.: 356
l33t



which to be honest, might not happen for 6-7 more years :-/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18 January 2019 - 12:57