IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Question about importing models into 3d C&C games
Keeper
post 26 May 2015, 0:51
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: Tester
Posts: 78
Joined: 3 April 2015
Member No.: 11007



I have a question about models for the 3d C&C games such as Generals, Tiberium Wars and Red Alert 3.

I know that the models are made in 3ds Max and that they have a specific filetype for it. I believe they were called .max files.

Recently, I have tried experimenting with making my own models to be used in these games. I can't create anything complex, just only basic things (e.g: structures, guns for infantry, etc) which are untextured at the moment. However, I use Blender.

Is it possible to somehow convert blender files into .max files with Blender or would I need something else for it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 26 May 2015, 1:23
Post #2


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2101
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



1. From Blender export to .obj
2. import .obj into 3ds max 7 or 8
3. export model from max to .w3d using the BFME2 Mod SDK
4. ????
5. PROFIT


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimeBurner
post 4 Jan 2016, 10:14
Post #3


Motherland's Finest
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1043
Joined: 10 May 2014
Member No.: 10454
"We have watched, we have waited, now... we act!"



Zeke,how do I import .w3d models into max 2015?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 4 Jan 2016, 15:25
Post #4


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2101
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



QUOTE (TimeBurner @ 4 Jan 2016, 17:14) *
Zeke,how do I import .w3d models into max 2015?


You can't because there is no importer for it.

You'd have to import to max 7 or 8, then open it in max 2015.

This post has been edited by Zeke: 4 Jan 2016, 15:26


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimeBurner
post 5 Jan 2016, 9:55
Post #5


Motherland's Finest
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1043
Joined: 10 May 2014
Member No.: 10454
"We have watched, we have waited, now... we act!"



Does max 8 have a built in importer for .w3d or do I have to use coolfile's?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zeke
post 5 Jan 2016, 16:33
Post #6


The X General
Group Icon

Group: Project Leader
Posts: 2101
Joined: 7 June 2009
From: Philippines
Member No.: 73
Uniqueness is Overrated



QUOTE (TimeBurner @ 5 Jan 2016, 16:55) *
Does max 8 have a built in importer for .w3d or do I have to use coolfile's?


Coolfile's


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omeka88
post 17 Jul 2017, 17:24
Post #7



Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 July 2017
From: Roma
Member No.: 15601



for C&C3 , RA3 and C&C4 you can export the asset (.W3X) , c'ant help for the impot (im use only 3DMax7).

if you need y can help for export the w3x av-7.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18 June 2018 - 14:25